

Media Release

Master Builders President and new board elected January 28, 2021

Master Builders WA welcomes new board members for 2021 under the leadership of re-elected President David Crothers, of Geraldton builder Crothers Construction, and newly elected Vice President Michael Van Dongen from Encon.

Master Builders executive director John Gelavis said places on the board and councils were hotly contested this year from both metropolitan and regional WA, which showed strong member engagement and recognition of the successful work of the association during COVID-19.

Master Builders President David Crothers said it was an honour to be re-elected. "Master Builders WA will be more important than ever in 2021 as the building and construction industry takes on the increased workload created by residential building grants and a multi-billion-dollar pipeline of major infrastructure projects," he said.

"The building and construction industry is at the forefront of COVID-19 economic recovery so it is encouraging to see highly capable and enthusiastic builders step into leadership roles. This is an exciting time to be in the industry and we are well placed to meet the challenges ahead.

"I would like to thank outgoing board member Philip Kemp from Alliance Builders for his outstanding contribution to the board and the industry over many years.

"It is pleasing to see a refreshed board for 2021, including new members Shaun Hughes, of Focus Building Company, and Michael Vermey from Homebuyers Centre. I welcome and congratulate them for making a great commitment to the members, our wonderful industry and the proud tradition of our 122-year-old association.

"With the COVID-19 recovery well underway, the state election in March and further reforms planned for the industry, Master Builders is well positioned to advocate strongly on behalf of its many members to support and advance the West Australian building and construction industry."

Master Builders WA board of management for 2021:

- President: David Crothers, Crothers Construction
- Vice President & Chair Construction Council: Michael Van Dongen, Encon
- Chair Housing Council: Ray Kershaw, Mondo Exclusive Homes
- Immediate Past President: Rob Spadaccini, Spadaccini Homes
- Treasurer: Grant Burgess, Ernst & Young
- Shaun Hughes, Focus Building Company
- Steve McConkey, Multiplex
- Isla McRobbie, Jackson McDonald



- Dan Perkins, Perkins Builders
- John Ripp, EMCO Building
- Robert Shaw, Daly & Shaw Building
- Michael Vermey, Homebuyers Centre
- Paula West, Inspired Homes

The full board and council lists for 2021 are at www.mbawa.com/about/governance/.

For more information please contact: John Gelavis, Director – w: 9476 9800 m: 0428 884 392